Hennessy Cognac Gold Cup Handicap Chase at Newbury 2007

The £150,000 Hennessy Cognac Gold Cup will be run at Newbury on the 1st December 2007. It was first run in 1957 when Mandarin won the race. There have been some top class chasers win this race since 1957 and I have once again collated the past winners. My first visit to the Newbury track was in 1962. That year the race was fought out between two runners from the late Neville Crump’s stable, Springbok and Rough Tweed. Springbok was a favourite of mine and just prevailed in a photo finish from Rough Tweed whom I think was ridden by the late David Nicholson. Springbok was ridden by Gerry Scott. There was a similar finish when I was there in 1973 between Red Candle and Red Rum. Rummy just lost that day. Another memorable year for me was the year One Man won in 1994. That afternoon Jamie Osbourne rode four winners. Before racing started I had my customary “go” on the Tote Jackpot and Placepot. I had five winners, albeit shortish prices, but failed to select One Man in the Hennessy, instead going for the favourite, Dubacilla, who finished out of the first four. The Jackpot paid £892 that afternoon and the Placepot £269. The last time I visited Newbury racecourse was in 1998 when Teeton Mill won for Venetia Williams. There was quite a gamble on him that afternoon as he was owned by The Winning Line.
My visits to Newbury have been restricted as they usually coincide with home games at Ipswich. This year is no exception. However I will be missing both Ipswich and the Hennessy as I hope to be in sunnier and warmer climes courtesy of Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines.
Looking at the race at this early stage it seems that all the weights will rise making Denman the top weight. He was originally allotted 10 stone 8 pounds. I think New Alco and Juveigneur would make more appeal if I was around to have a bet. However if Denman does carry top weight to victory he will immediately be talked of as a Cheltenham Gold Cup horse. Those that have won the Hennessy and then a Cheltenham Gold Cup are Mandarin, Mill House, Arkle, Bregawn, Midnight Court and Burrough Hill Lad. Burrough Hill Lad’s win was as long ago as 1984. It will be asking a lot of Denman to be included in this select group of Chasers.
Now here are the past winners :-
1957 Mandarin
1958 Taxidermist
1959 Kerstin
1960 Knucklecracker
1961 Mandarin
1962 Springbok
1963 Mill House
1964 Arkle
1965 Arkle
1966 Stalbridge Colonist
1967 Rondetto
1968 Man of The West
1969 Spanish Steps
1970 Border Mask
1971 Bighorn
1972 Charlie Potheen
1973 Red Candle
1974 Royal Marshall
1975 April Seventh
1976 Zeta’s Son
1977 Bachelor’s Hall
1978 Approaching
1979 Fighting Fit
1980 Bright Highway
1981 Diamond Edge
1982 Bregawn
1983 Brown Chamberlin
1984 Burrough Hill Lad
1985 Galway Blaze
1986 Broadheath
1987 Playschool
1988 Strands of Gold
1989 Ghofar
1990 Artic Call
1991 Chatam
1992 Sibton Abbey
1993 Cogent
1994 One Man
1995 Couldnt Be Better
1996 Coome Hill
1997 Suny Bay
1998 Teeton Mill
1999 Ever Blessed
2000 Kings Road
2001 What’s Up Boys
2002 Be My Royal
2003 Strong Flow
2004 Celestial Gold
2005 Trabolgan
2006 State of Play

I am sure it will be another super race this year and it would be great if a top weight could win it again. I will be recording the race on my Sky+ box and checking the results from an Internet cafe’ while in the Canary Islands. Its a great life ! For the runners and riders with the jockeys colours click on the link to the sporting life on the left hand side and select racecards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *